About 15km southwest of Da Nang, the Tuy Loan communal house is located in Hoa Vang District’s Hoa Phong Commune. It boasts beautiful scenery and the unique characteristics of a Vietnamese rural village.
The house dates back over 500 years to the time when Emperor Le Thanh Tong issued a royal proclamation to extend the country’s territory. A stele erected at the worshipping house of the village’s five families reveals that their five predecessors with the last names of Dang, Lam, Nguyen, Tran and Le together founded this village.
The house was initially built using bamboo trunks and leaves in 1470. In 1787, it was rebuilt in an ancient architectural style featuring a tiled roof and brick walls, but it was destroyed by fire in 1888.
Then, the communal house was rebuilt in 1890 under the reign of Emperor Thanh Thai. Despite the passing of so many centuries, the house still retains its inherent majesty.